PURGEACCT


     Removes an account and its groups and users from the system
     directory or from the specified volume set's directory. (CM)

SYNTAX


PURGEACCT acctname [;ONVS=volumesetname]

PARAMETERS


acctname Name of the account to be deleted. This name must
contain from one to eight alphanumeric characters,
beginning with an alphabetic character.

volumesetname The volume set from which the account is to be
purged. For MPE/iX, volume set names are no longer
invariably composed of name.group.account. Instead,
volume set names consist simply of one (1) to
thirty-two (32) characters, beginning with an
alphabetic character. The remaining characters may
be alphabetic, numeric, the underscore, and periods.

If you specify a volsetname, you must specify the
full name of the volume set. MPE V/E permitted you
to use part of the volume set name and rely upon the
default characteristics of the system to search out
the remainder of the name. MPE/iX does not permit
this. If you wish, you may use the older MPE V/E
conventions when assigning a name to a volume set.
If you do, you are then obliged to refer to that
volume set by its full (fully qualified) name. The
MPE/iX naming convention gives you greater freedom
in creating names, and so its use is encouraged.

The volumesetname specified refers to a previously
defined volume set. When the volumesetname is
specified, the volume set or must be mounted, or the
PURGEACCT command will fail. When volumesetname
parameter is specified, the account will be removed
from the volume set directory, and not the system directory.

OPERATION

     The system manager uses the PURGEACCT command to eliminate
     an entire account from the system.  When PURGEACCT is
     executed during a session, MPE/iX displays a verification
     request to ensure that the wrong account is not deleted
     accidentally.  Respond YES or NO to the message

     ACCT acctname TO BE PURGED?

     No verification message is printed when the PURGEACCT is
     entered in a job.

     The PURGEACCT command removes every user not currently
     logged on and every group/file not in use. The order in
     which entries are purged is  users, volume set definitions,
     files, groups, and finally the account.  If the command is
     executed while the account is in use, the account remains on
     the system  active users, groups, and files are not purged
     from the account.  To completely purge an account, you must
     execute PURGEACCT when the account is inactive.

     This command may be issued from a session, job, program, or
     in BREAK. Pressing [Break] has no effect on this command. You
     must have System Manager (SM) capability to execute this
     command.

CAUTION

Do not attempt to purge the SYS account. The account SYS cannot be
completely purged, but you can destroy critical files by attempting to
do so.  If you execute PURGEACCT SYS, all groups except PUB will be
purged, all users except the system manager will be purged, and all
inactive files and system files in the PUB group will be purged.

NOTE

If you specify volume-related commands or parameters for a volume set
that is not currently mounted, or for an account that does not exist,
MPE/iX will return a corresponding error message


EXAMPLE(S)

     To remove an account named ACCT1, enter

     PURGEACCT ACCT1
     ACCT ACCT1 TO BE PURGED? YES


     To purge the account FARFLE from the volume set TIME_LORD,
     you will need to issue two commands

     PURGEACCT FARFLE
     ACCT FARFLE TO BE PURGED? YES

     PURGEACCT FARFLE;ONVS=TIME_LORD
     ACCT FARFLE TO BE PURGED? YES


     The first command informs the system volume set of the
     purge; the second informs the mountable volume set.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Commands:   PURGEGROUP, PURGEUSER

Manuals :   Performing System Management Tasks (32650-90004)
            Performing System Operation Tasks (32650-90137)