PURGEUSER



PURGEUSER

     Removes a user from an account.

SYNTAX

     PURGEUSER user[.acctname]


PARAMETERS

user                Name of the user to be deleted.

acctname            Specifies the name of the account in which the user
                    is found.  Default is the logon account of the
                    account manager.


OPERATION

     Account Managers use the PURGEUSER command to delete a user
     from account.  You are asked to verify the command only when
     it is executed during a session, and not from a job.  To do
     so, respond YES or NO to the message

     USER user TO BE PURGED?  (YES/NO)

     An attempt to purge a user currently logged on to the system
     fails, and an explanatory message is displayed:


     IN USE: CAN'T BE PURGED.

     The user can only purged if the user is not logged on when
     the PURGEUSER command is issued. An attempt to purge
     MANAGER.SYS always fails, since this user can never be purged
     if the user is logged onto the system.

     If files created by a purged user remain after the user is
     purged from the system, the system manager can remove them
     with the PURGEACCT command, or the account manager can
     eliminate them by executing PURGEGROUP.

     This command may be issued from a session, job, program, or
     in BREAK. Pressing [Break] has no effect on this command.
     To execute this command, the account must be the same as
     the logon account of the command issuer unless that user
     has System Manager (SM) capability.


EXAMPLE(S)

     To remove a user named USER1, enter

     PURGEUSER USER1

     USER USER1 TO BE PURGED? YES

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Commands:   PURGEACCT, PURGEGROUP

Manuals :   Performing System Management Tasks (32650-90004)
            Performing System Operation Tasks (32650-90137)